2/05/2011 Inverness Ca, Famous Point Reyes Ship Wreck



Photo of the day, Febraury 5, 2011 Point Reyes Ship Wreck

This past Saturday Amanda and I went up to Inverness to celebrate Erin’s 30th birthday. It was a great Bday bash and the food was amazing! Erin is a foodie’s foodie and an excellent chef, whom used to work at Quince in SF.  The most interesting dish was rabbit froe gras, but it wasn’t froe gras.  She cooked the rabbit, de-bone and finally pulverized the rabbit meat with a mortar and pestle. It was delicious…just wait for her 40th. 🙂

Point Reyes and Tomales Bay are beautiful places that provide great opportunities for photography. However, its a 1.5 hour drive from SF and photo locations are spread out so planning is required. This trip I wanted to photography the famous shipwrecked fishing boat of Point Reyes. From my research, I knew the boat was located in Tomales Bay and not Point Reyes. Optimistically, I looked for the ship on the drive to the Bday party.   JACKPOT! The ship is located in the center of Inverness about half a mile from the party and it can be seen from Sir Francis Drake Blvd. We arrived at the perfect time, just before the sunset over the mountains to the West. I think the shot above is my best shot from that day. The last moments of direct sunlight illuminated the ship and exaggerating the weathered paint. I used my UWA Sigma 10-20mm lens and the day light white balance setting on my Canon 40D to warm up the colors. I think sunrise is the best time to photograph this scene. The mountains to the West are steep and block the setting sun.  Morning light should fill boats side with beautiful illumination.   I came back to shoot the ship at sunset with the cirrus clouds glowing orange and pink, but I need a fill flash on the ship. Next time….

This slideshow requires JavaScript.






Leave a comment