2011.05.23 Bonsai Rock Dramatic Image


Bonsai Rock is a very nice rock formation located about 1 mile south of Sand Harbor, on the Eastern Coast line of Lake Tahoe.  To access this scene you need to park on a very small turn out, a gravel patch and hike down to the water.   My hope was to capture brilliant sunset light with the snow-capped mountains in the background.  Unfortunately, the weather did not comply to my wishes.  The wind was strong and producing large waves that crashed on the rocks in the foreground.  I used my 9 stop ND filter to make a dramatic scene by creating smooth water and movement in the clouds.  There was another photographer there shooting without this filter, and  I cannot imagine his images were this dramatic/creative.  This image was taken at f/11, 15 seconds, ISO 200 Date 2011.05.23

Here is a map of the location.  The rock formation in the water is Bonsai Rock.  Happy shooting.

Leave a comment